Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Council Assessment Panel

The role of Council's Council Assessment Panel (CAP) is to make decisions on development applications presented by Council planning staff.

As required by the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016 (the Act), the Panel consists of five members, with a minimum of four independent members. In its role as planning authority, the CAP operates under the Act (and during the transition to the Act, the Development Act 1993).

CAP Meetings

CAP meetings are scheduled for the 4th Tuesday of each month at the Council offices commencing 6.30pm, unless otherwise advised.

The public and media are welcome at meetings, however there are general protocols for those wishing to observe the proceedings. Members of the gallery cannot take part in debate at meetings, do not need to stay for the entire meeting, and may leave quietly at any time.

Expression of Interest for Independent Members

Council is seeking Expressions of Interest from members of the public who would like to contribute as an Independent Member on the City of Salisbury Council Assessment Panel (CAP).

Council has adopted the following Terms of Reference for the CAP.

Remuneration per meeting is $500 for the Presiding Member and $400 for the Independent Members.

Independent Members are required to have an Accreditation Class of Planning Level 2 under the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016.  Information in relation to the Accredited Professionals scheme may be viewed on the PlanSA website by clicking here.

Expressions of Interest detailing experience, skills, knowledge and qualifications should be submitted via or emailed to or posted to PO Box 8, Salisbury SA 5108, by Monday 28 June 2021.

For further information please contact Mr Chris Zafiropoulos, Assessment Manager on 8406 8279 or

Operating Procedures

Available here.

Agendas and Minutes

Access to the agenda and minutes for CAP meetings are available from the Business Papers Search page. 

CAP Membership

Presiding Member
Mr Terry Mosel

Independent Members
Ms Cherie Gill
Mr Ross Bateup
Mr Matt Atkinson

Elected Member
Mr Beau Brug

Deputy Elected Member

Ms Shiralee Reardon

Code of Conduct

The Minister for Planning has adopted a code of conduct that is to be observed by all members of the CAP.  The code of conduct is available here.

Complaints or concerns about behaviour that is in contravention of the code of conduct must be addressed in writing to the State Planning Commission.

Phone: (08) 7109 7466
Post: GPO Box 1815, Adelaide SA 5001

Assessment Manager

The CAP has an Assessment Manager that, amongst other things, is appointed to manage the staff and operations of the assessment panel as well as provide advice to the assessment panel (as appropriate). Mr Chris Zafiropoulos, Manager Development Services has been appointed as the Assessment Manager to the CAP.

Telephone: (08) 8406 8222
Correspondence to: PO Box 8, Salisbury  SA  5108