The Meeting Place.png

Reconciliation Action Plan

The City of Salisbury has developed a Reconciliation Action Plan that turns our good intentions towards reconciliation into action by identifying actions, timelines and measurable targets for relationships, respect and opportunities.

Please download our Reconciliation Action Plan here -  Reconciliation Action Plan.

Acknowledgement Protocols

The City of Salisbury Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group recommends the following Acknowledgement of Country wording:

The City of Salisbury acknowledges that we are meeting on the traditional Country of the Kaurna people of the Adelaide Plains and pays respect to Elders past and present. We recognise and respect their cultural heritage, beliefs and relationship with the land. We acknowledge that they are of continuing importance to the Kaurna people living today.

The Kaurna language translation of this statement is:

City of Salisburyrlu tampinthi, ngadlu Kaurna yartangka inparrinthi. Kaurna miyurna yaitya mathanya Wama Tarntanyaku, Purkarnanti puki-unangku yalaka kuma.Parnaku yailtya, parnaku tapa purruna, parnaku yarta ngadlu tampinthi. Yalaka Kaurna miyurna itu yailtya, tapa purruna, yarta kuma puru martinthi, puru warri-apinthi, puru tangka martulayinthi.

City of Salisbury Reconciliation Action Plan ‘Welcome to Country’ and ‘Acknowledgement to Country’ Protocols and Guidelines 2014

These Protocols and Guidelines provide information about the reasons why recognition of Country is important and the process of implementing the protocols within the City of Salisbury.

2019 Selected Aboriginal Dates

Click here Click here  

Indigenous Art in Salisbury

'Together Woven': by Marijana Tadic and Alexis West.

 Together Woven

Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians

On Wednesday 5 September 2012 a conversation around Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians was held at the John Harvey Gallery. The conversation included a special discussion panel, comprising of the Honourable Robyn Layton, Professor Peter Buckskin, Tony Zappia MP and Khatija Thomas.

Page image credit: ‘The Meeting Place’ by the following artists at the Pooraka Farm Community Centre: Rosemary Barrie, Maria Gruber, Lorraine Gum, Upasana Srvastava, Sunil Vig, Frank Wanganeen, Gary Zuber.